Crime

13 05 2008

Why is it a crime to care?

I live in a world where asking an upset person–who happens to be a stranger–if they’re okay is creepy.

I live in a world where a person can be sitting by themselves, crying, and no one will stop.

Why is it a crime to care?

I live in a world where I can see on a Facebook status that an acquaintance is struggling, send them a note, and be thought a bit of a stalker.

I live in a world where I can show geniune interest in a person’s life, and other interest is assumed.

Why is it a crime to care?

I live in a world where expressing concern for a friend means you think they’re weak.

I live in a world where warning a friend is none of my business and is judging them as a person.

Why is it a crime to care?

Are we too proud to admit weakness? Is preserving our self-sufficient identity really that important to us? Is concern for others so rare that it must be rebuffed when encountered?

I just wonder, why is it a crime to care?

Actions

Information

One response

15 05 2008
Amy

Very deep thoughts, my dear. Sad but true.

Leave a Reply

