Sidelines

2 07 2008

“May I have this dance?”

This is the question my little girl’s heart longed to hear, even as that little girl grew into a young woman. I stood on the sidelines, watching the couples on the dance floor, tentatively, wistfully hoping someone would choose me.

But they never did.

I began to hide, summoning interest in the food, in the people around me. But my heart still wished and hoped. “Pick me. Am I beautiful? Am I special? Out of all the faces in the crowd, will someone pick me?”

Still, no one ever did. I had known they wouldn’t. But knowing wasn’t the same as knowing.

Today I was imagining the special dances of newlyweds, wishing it were me. I decided, in faith, at my wedding my new husband would come and invite me out of the crowd for our first dance.

Then, knowing my heart as He does, Christ led me to the book “Captivating,” to its very last pages, and I read:

“Jesus is extending His hand to you. He is inviting you to dance with Him. He asks, ‘May I have this dance…every day of your life.’ His gaze is fixed on you. He is captivated by your beauty. He is smiling. He cares nothing of the opinion of others. He is standing. He will lead. He waits for your response.”

 

“My lover spoke and said to me

‘Arise, my darling, my beautiful one

and come with me.” (Song. 2:10)

 

Overwhelmed, I felt tears well. Christ is my lover, He who has chosen me, who has declared me beautiful.

He asks, “May I have this dance?”

Every day, my Jesus. Every day.

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 07 2008
Amy

Amen, Sis.

6 07 2008
Jon

That’s pretty good. Pretty good indeed.

Leave a Reply

