Watching Grass Grow

22 10 2008

“While I’m waiting,

I will move ahead, bold and confident,

Taking every step in obedience.

While I’m waiting,

I will serve you while I’m waiting,

I will worship while I’m waiting,

I will not faint, I’ll be running this race,

Even while I wait.”

(John Waller, “While I’m Waiting”)

 

I have been thinking recently about Jesus’ analogy of the harvest. As he said, “the harvest is plentiful but the laborers are few. Therefore, ask the Lord of the harvest to sent out laborers into His harvest field,” and “Let us not become weary in doing good, for we will reap a harvest in the proper time if we do not give up.” (Luke 10:2, Gal. 6:9).

 

In the Midwest the biggest harvest time is in late June and early July, during wheat harvest. For two weeks in rural Kansas normal life grinds to a halt and harvest operations kick into high gear. Everyone’s energy and resources are focused on one thing: to bring in the harvest before storms with rain, hail or high winds destroy the crop that has required so much labor, time and money from the farmers in the past year.

 

And you know what? There’s a lot of time between harvests! Ever heard the term, “watching grass grow”? That’s what waiting for harvest is, literally. After the farmer plants the seeds that farmer has to wait weeks, even months, for the first growth to appear. Turkey Red Winter Wheat is the most common variety grown where I live. It gets its name because it lays dormant, seemingly dead, all winter and then begins to grow in the spring.

 

The farmer tills the ground, plants the seeds and waits for the harvest, all in faith that God will send rain and cause the seed to grow. The farmer does not worry about not seeing a harvest in January, or frantically check the fields for wheat heads in March. It’s not yet the right time; the sun is only beginning to thaw the ground.

 

The farmer waits patiently for the harvest, knowing it will come in the right time, and makes careful preparation so he can go all-out when the time for harvest finally comes.

 

I look forward to celebrating the harvest with you. In the mean time, I’ll be watching grass grow.

 

“I’m waiting on you, Lord,

And I am peaceful,

I’m waiting on you, Lord,

Though it’s not easy,

But faithfully, I will wait,

Yes, I will wait.”

(Waller)

Actions

Information

4 responses

22 10 2008
Amy

A good reminder. . . . Thanks, Kris. =)

22 10 2008
Katie

Thanks. It was a light-bulb moment for me and very encouraging. 🙂

23 10 2008
Lindsey Morford

I’ll join you in watching the grass grow. At the same time, we can still watch and see little sprigs of green, little shoots of grass, and even taller stems. God knows we need encouragement, and He will give it to us, but we need to be looking for it!

23 10 2008
krissakai

Yes, indeed! And we can tell each other when we see sprigs of grass come up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

