Questions

8 02 2009

I dare to say the Western Church is one of the world’s largest, mostly-untapped source of financial, theological and personnel resources for the cause of world missions. Why?

Why the disparity between available resources and actual outpouring and impact?

Perhaps we have been asking the wrong question.

When we think about overseas missions, unreached people groups and our role in the grand scheme of the advance of the gospel (if we think of it at all), we often consider questions like, Where should I go? Can I raise support? What about education for my children?

But mostly we ask – and this one’s the kicker – Is God calling me to go?

When we examine the Scriptures it seems obvious that God wants His people to tell of Him to the nations who have never heard. The Great Commission, found in Matthew 28:18-20, is a good example. This mandate is also found in the Abrahamic Covenant (Genesis 12:1-3) and throughout the Old and New Testaments. Look it up – be a good Borean. (Acts 17:11).

But the question remains: What is God calling me personally to do?

I realize I am straying into dangerous territory now – it’s true, each individual’s calling must be determined through great prayer and petition from God alone – but I do believe if a specific personal mandate is not been made clear to us, we are to follow Christ’s general mandate. His last marching orders, as it were, are found in Matt. 28: 18-19a: “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore, go and make disciples of all nations…”

I know many wonderful people whom God has called into ministry here in the U.S. However, I fear many of us stay not because we have been given a clear calling and ministry in the U.S., but because it is the expected and acceptable course – even in churches. We have missed the significance of God’s general mandate for our personal lives.

We have been asking the wrong question: Am I called to go?

What if we started asking a better question?

Am I called to stay?

 

“The question we should ponder is not, ‘How much should I give?’ but ‘How much should I keep?'” Linda Dillow, Donkeys Still Talk

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

