Glory

5 12 2009

Glory.

Really, it’s all about glory.

Your glory, Lord, Your name being “exalted above all blessing and praise” [Ne. 9:5]. And all the troubles and decisions and sacrifices and tears of the world fade to insignificance.

“Missions is not the ultimate goal of the church. Worship is. Missions exists because worship doesn’t. Worship is ultimate, not missions, because God is ultimate, not man. When this age is over, and all the countless millions of the redeemed fall on their faces before the throne of God, missions will be no more. It is a temporary necessity. But worship abides forever.” [Piper]

And so it is with my life. He is the One who guided me into this world, designed every unique, contradicting facet of me, adopted me into His family and chose me for my appointed tasks to bring about His kingdom and and His glory [Eph. 2:10].

I don’t actually decide anything–not my major, my ministry, my summer plans, my future mate, my career, my life purpose. Nothing. I must only discern the next step which my wise, loving Father has ordered for me.

It’s not easy. In fact, at times it’s very difficult. Heart-breaking choices must be made. Painful sacrifices must be torn away and tied to the altar. Tough marching orders must be joyfully accepted and immediately obeyed.

Is pain and perseverance too high a price to be asked by One who wept for my grief, touched me with healing hands and cleansed me of my depravity with His torment and His blood? Surely there is no comfort or dream or desire that cannot be asked.

For heartbreak or loneliness or fear or defeat are “light and momentary troubles” [2 Cor. 4:17] that are passing away in the light of His eternal glory, drowning in the “all-surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord” [Phil. 3:8]. And this is eternal life: that I may know You, the One True God, and Jesus Christ” [John 17:3].

It doesn’t matter whether He sends me off to the jungle, appoints me to be a wife and mother, raises me up to be a powerful and effective author or creates a colorful, new path for me from the kalaidascope of options (considering His track record, this seems most likely). “What matters is faith expressing itself in love” [Gal. 5:6], to the endless glory and pleasure of the King.

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 12 2009
Janelle

Katie, you are absolutely amazing.

18 06 2010
krissakai

Thank-you my dear! 😉 You’re pretty amazing yourself!

Leave a Reply

